What is the difference between a master plan and a sector plan?

Pursuant to State law, the Zoning Ordinance divides Prince George’s County into 37 Planning Areas. The Planning Department groups these Planning Areas into seven (7) Subregions. A master plan for a Subregion, a Planning Area, or more than one Planning Area is called an “Area Master Plan.”  

A master plan for portions of one or more Planning Areas is called a “Sector Plan.” A master plan created for areas designated in the pre-2018 Zoning Ordinance as Transit District Overlay Zones are called “Transit District Development Plans.” All of these (area master, sector, and transit district development plans) have the same applicability as master plans. The County currently has 38 active master plans. 

Each master plan is an amendment to the County’s General Plan.  

Show All Answers

1. What is comprehensive planning?
2. Whom can I contact regarding planning issues in my area?
3. Where can I access videos of recent public meetings?
4. Can our staff provide planning / design assistance to your city, town, or community?
5. What is the difference between a master plan and a sector plan?
6. How are sector and master plans prepared?
7. What is the Plan Prince George's 2035?
8. What are functional plans?
9. What is a sectional map amendment (SMA)?